EC shunts several top officials in five poll-bound states for laxity in work | India News

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Wednesday transferred several top police and administrative officers in five poll-bound states for laxity in work, news agency PTI reported quoting sources.
This comes days after the Election Commission announced the poll schedule for five states -Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

Assembly elections in Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, MP, Rajasthan and Telangana: Watch the complete schedule

Polling will begin on November 7 and counting will be done on December 3 for all five states. While Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram will vote in single phases, polling in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases.
Voting for all 40 assembly seats in Mizoram will take place on November 7. The first phase of polling for 20 seats in Chhattisgarh will also be held on the same date. The remaining 70 seats in Chhattisgarh will go to polls on November 17, alongside all 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh.

How Israel-Hamas Conflict will affect state assembly polls in India

While voting for all 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan will take place on November 23, the 119-member Telangana assembly will be the last to go to polls on November 30.
Around 60 lakh first time voters (18-19 years) will participate in elections in the 5 states.
There will be 1.77 lakh polling stations in these 5 poll-bound, of which 1.01 will have webcasting facility.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *